2.5 DIVISION OF ENVIRONMENTAL SCIENCE AND TECHNOLOGY

1. Outline of the Division

The division of Environmental Science and Technology currently numbers 7chairs and 16 laboratories, i.e. Chair of Comparative Agricultural Science which is researching on the regions from international viewpoints, Chair of Bio-environmental Science which is based on the forest and biomaterial science, Chair of Agro-ecosystem Science which is based on bio-ecology and bioscience, Chair of Environmental development Engineering which aims engineering improvement of rural production site, Chair of Land and Water Resources Management which aims physical and social improvement of rural area, Chair of Bioproduction Engineering which aims creation and application of various engineering techniques in fields, and Chair of Nuclear Science and Engineering (Research Reactor Institute) which aims application of radiation science to environmental science.

This division has a large Graduate program with 135 students enrolled: (96 in the Master's Program including 1 foreign student and 39 in the Doctor's Program including 4 foreign students) in this year.

This division welcomed five new staff: Dr. Hiroshi Amano (Prof., Lab. of Ecological Information), Dr. Hiroshi Shimizu (Prof., Lab. of Agricultural Systems Engineering) and Dr. Shizuka Hashimoto (Lecturer, Lab. of Rural Planning) in April, Dr. Kanehiro Kitamaya (Prof., Lab. of Forest Ecology) in June and Dr. Yuuichi Ogawa (Assoc. Prof., Lab. of Agricultural Process Engineering), in September in 2007.

2. Number of students

Master's Program 1st	50
Master's Program 2nd	46
Doctor's Program	39