

#### Faculty of Agriculture

Faculty of Agriculture was founded in 1923 as the seventh Faculty of Kyoto University. The major reorganization of Faculty took place concomitantly with the reorganization of Graduate School, and three departments reconstructed from former ten Departments were in active from April, 1995. After 6 years educational experiences the Faculty has been reconstructed again from three to six departments in April, 2001: Bioresource Science, Applied Life Science, Agricultural and Environmental Engineering, Food and Environmental Economics, Forest and Biomaterials Science, and Food Science and Biotechnology. The faculty, together with the Faculty of Science, is located in the north campus of the University.

The Academic staff of the Faculty is composed of all the academic members of the Graduate School of Agriculture and some staffs of other graduate schools of Kyoto University who are assigned to the Faculty. The general administration of the Faculty is managed by the assigned faculty members (Full Professors) with the dean as chairperson. This body takes decisions on admission and award of degrees. The administrative officials of the Graduate School concurrently serve for the administrative duties in the Faculty.

The Faculty offers undergraduate instruction in the six specialized fields indicated by the names of the departments. A total of 312 undergraduate students are admitted 2006; 97 in Bioresource Science, 52 in Applied Life Science, 38 in Agricultural and Environmental Engineering, 34 in Food and Environmental Economics, 58 in Forest and Biomaterials Science, 33 in Food Science and Biotechnology.

To obtain admission a student must have completed 12 years of schooling, and pass the entrance examination usually given towards the end of February or at the beginning of March every year.

To graduate with the Bachelor's degree, students are required to study at least for 4 years in the Faculty. Recently, it was decided to allow a student, who has an excellent record of schooling, to proceed to the graduate course after completing the third year of the undergraduate programs. But in this case the Bachelor's degree is not conferred. No student can remain in the undergraduate programs for more than 8 years.

#### Graduate School of Agriculture

Graduate School of Agriculture was founded in 1953 on the basis of Faculty of Agriculture founded in 1923. After its radical reorganization to revise and reinforce the education and research programs in the years 1995 to 1997, the following six divisions were founded in the Graduate School of Agriculture: Agronomy and Horticultural Science, Forestry and Biomaterials Science, Applied Life Science, Applied Biosciences, Environmental Science and Technology, and Natural Resources Economics. Division of Food Science and Biotechnology was newly founded in 2001 in concomitant with reorganization of the Faculty. These contain two affiliated Institutions (the Experimental Farm, and the Livestock Farm) and two research laboratories in the Institute for Chemical Research; eight in Research Institute for Sustainable Humanosphere; one in the Research Reactor Institute: and two in Field Science Education and Research Center.

The Academic staff of the Graduate School of Agriculture is composed of over 219 highly

experienced and professional persons in the following ranks: Professor, Associate Professor, Lecturer and Assistant Professor. The general administration of the Graduate School is managed by the school members (Full Professors) with the dean as chairperson. This body among others takes decisions on admission, award of degrees, promotion, and budgetary matters of the School. The numbers of Professors, Associate Professors, Lecturers and Assistant Professors are 66, 61, 13, and 79, respectively. There is also an administrative division within the School that is headed by a director for administration. The number of administrative officials and technical officials is 116.

To obtain admission applicants must have completed normally 4 years of undergraduate education and pass the entrance examination, usually given in near the end of August. Exceptionally, students who have completed the third year of the undergraduate programs may be admitted to the Master's programs, provided they have passed the entrance examination. Every year, a total of 289 graduate students are admitted in Master's programs, and about 80 students are admitted in Doctor's programs.

To receive the Master of Agricultural Science, students must study for at least 2 years (and not more than four) in the Master's programs, obtain 30 or more credits in the specialized courses, and submit a thesis. To receive the Doctor of Agricultural Science degree, students must conduct research normally for 3 or more years (and not more than 6) in the specialized field, submit a dissertation, and pass a qualifying examination. Exceptionally, those who have attained a sufficiently high standard in their research may be conferred the Doctor's degree after 3 and more years (and less than 5 years) of study, including the Master's programs, at the graduate school.

The graduate school confers the Doctor of Agricultural Science to the applicants who have submitted the dissertation and passed an examination that proves them to be equivalent to the students who have completed the Doctor's programs in their knowledge in the field of specialization and foreign language. There is also a residential requirement for the applicants to prove their capabilities before submission of the dissertation.

Dean	Okumura, Shogo
Vice Dean	Endo, Takashi
Vice Dean	Fushiki, Tohru
Vice Dean	Hirata, Takashi
Vice Dean	Ueda, Kazumitsu

#### Division

Director, Division of Agronomy and Horticultural Science	Tominaga, Tohru
Director, Division of Forest and Biomaterials Science	Ohta, Seiichi
Director, Division of Applied Life Sciences	Miyagawa, Hisashi
Director, Division of Applied Biosciences	Sakuma, Masayuki
Director, Division of Environmental Science and Technology	Futai, Kazuyoshi
Director, Division of Natural Resource Economics	Niiyama, Yoko
Director, Division of Food Science and Biotechnology	Murata, Kousaku

# Department

Director, Department of Bioresource Science	Sako, Yoshihiko	
Director, Department of Applied Life Sciences	Matoh, Toru	
Director, Department of Agricultural and Environmental Engineering Umeda, Mikio		
Director, Department of Food and Environmental Economics	Yoshida, Masayuki	
Director, Department of Forest and Biomaterials Science	Azuma, Jun−ichi	
Director, Department of Food Science and Biotechnology	Adachi, Shuji	

# **Facilities**

Director, Experimental Farm	Ymamada, Toshiaki
Director, Livestock Farm	Kume, Shinichi

# Administration Affairs

General Manager	Kosaka, Yoshimi
Assistant Manager, General Affairs Branch	Matsumoto, Michio
Assistant Manager, Accounting Branch	Maruoka, Masao
Assistant Manager, Educational Affaires Branch	Nishimura, Yukie